In the daylight we’ll be on our own, so tonight I have to hold you so close.


“…Don’t touch my face,” I trailed off meekly as Cassy smeared base all over my face, it drying and making my face stiffen like a mask. Cassy examined me then wiped the gloop all off my face, informing me we were going for a natural look.

“Cassy, it’s 4am. The wedding is in 19 hours. Why on earth are you doing this now?!” I was exhausted, I hadn’t slept at all thanks to my epic bachelorette party which involved Logan or Alex or Robin (I can’t remember) in a wedding dress popping out the cake…

I won’t go into that.

“I must perfect this!” Cassy smiled at me in a mix of an overly-attached girlfriend mixed with Golom way and I leaned back into my chair slightly, trying to get away from my sleep deprived Matron of Honour.

Cassy ran her fingers through her hair and stared at me, touching up some spots, basically pouring the whole eyeshadow container onto my abused face.

“Tada!” She grinned and shoved the mirror in my face.

Wow…I looked so fresh. So relaxed, so feminine…

Then my eyes went into focus.

“What the hell did you do to my face?!” I yelled at her as I saw the blotchyness, the zebra patterns on my eyelids, the maroon lipstick on the upper lip and the beige on the lower lip…

Cassy’s face fell.

“You don’t like it?”

“I love it,” I immediately warmed to her sad face. “But I think we need some sleep.”

She nodded shyly and went upstairs to her room. I fell onto the bed and began to dream, dream of Alex and I, and our guaranteed eternity together.

The time I become Mrs Alexander Anders.

~*<3*~

I woke up with the sounds of Cassy climbing into her Matron of Honour dress slowly, admiring its colour. She was fresh faced and slender, not looking at all like the woman who recently birthed twins- or the sleep deprived crazy woman the night before.

“What’s the time?” I asked sleepily.

“4 pm,” She grinned at me. “The bridesmaids are coming soon, in about 20 minutes. We still need to get everyone’s hair and make-up done, including your own. Can’t forget about our bride, can we?” She winked and I looked out the window to try see if Alex was coming in from his serving in Iran trying to make sure all the troops were heading back. That was why I was staying at Becks’ house and participating in other challenges in the mean time. This would be the first time I’d see Alex in weeks.

I sighed as I peered through the misty windows again, hoping to see his clump of dark brown hair, but all I saw was blankets of snow, hiding everything from sight. It looked like thousands of tiny fluffy lambs had spread all around my garden.

“Alex is at our house,” Cassy said amusedly as she admired her body in the full mirror. “I know you guys aren’t really traditional though we need to keep at least one tradition alive.”

I nodded and mumbled something and I suddenly got a text in from Electra.

Got caught up in traffic. Why the hell are cows walking across the road? Appaloosa Plains in the most retarded town ever, just saying. We’ll be an extra 20 minutes. Keep Cassy away from the champagne. x Electra.

I began to type a response.

Why? She promised she would stay sober…for now at least

A message pinged back.

Yeah…and you can call me Bob Marley. Chat soon. Oh wait, the cows just past. I’ll see you sooon!

Then as I turned around after switching off my cell, I saw Cassy fractions away from my face with a tube of lipstick.

“Cassy, don’t touch my face…”

“Don’t worry,” Cassy cackled as she bent closer with the deadly weapon. “You are going to look amazing once I’m done with you…”

~*<3*~

With my bridesmaids’ hair tied into prefect ponytails, their make up done to perfection, clutching their bouquets and in their brand new dresses, we were ready to go at 10:30 pm.

We all piled into the limo and there was soft music playing. There was a low buzz and some giggling. This sounded like a gala event, not before my wedding.

Screenshot-901

I reached to right next to the driver and turned up the barely recognizable song  and it sounded like Robbie Williams’ song, “Candy”.

As my bridesmaids sang along loudly and off key, I stared out the window and saw several families setting up their fireworks in their back gardens. A fizzle of excitement traveled down my spine and I thought, I’m getting married. I’m getting married.

The limo drew up by the venue and there was silence, silence that was soon broken by a case of extreme giggles from Chloe. I waited, each second ticking by painfully, for the last bridesmaids to get out.

I panicked seconds before I was due to walk down the aisle- who was gonna give me away? Considering my father never RSVP’d. I wiped a tear away hastily.

Screenshot-902

Screenshot-903

Screenshot-904

Screenshot-905

Screenshot-906

But as I turned around to see Robin, the best man, take Cassy’s arm, I saw a concerned face. Logan.

“Would you like me to give you away?” He smiled quietly.

“Yes, of course,” I replied, choked up with the consideration and love.

So Logan took my hand and began to lead me up to my love, my future- and my little piece of wholeness.

Alex.

Screenshot-909

Logan put his arm in mine and began to move quickly forward.
“Stop!” I whispered furiously. “I only do this once, you know! I want to savour it.”
Logan raised an eyebrow.
“Fine then. We’ll walk slowly.”

“What on earth is that?” Logan asked as those doves that Alex insisted on flew over us.
“Love doves, don’t ask. it’s all Alex.”
“They look too fat to be doves.”
“Well they are.”
“They look like turkeys.”

“They’re doves!”

“Love turkeys.”
“Logan, shut up,” I whispered, trying furiously not to giggle.

Screenshot-911

Screenshot-910

He smiled at me and handed me over to Alex reluctantly, mouthing ‘good luck.’

I stared at Alex for several moments and he stared at me. Our eyes locked for a moment, a moment that felt like seconds that morphed into minutes and into hours.

The moment was interrupted by the priest’s monotone with “Dearly beloved…”

Alex was looking around and I gave him a quick kick. His eyes lifted and stared at me. I mouthed, “Look at me.”

He grinned.

“I want to kiss you right now,” He mouthed, stretching his mouth into a vision of agony.

“Wait and see,” I whispered and he pouted. I stuck out my tongue.

“Alexander and Natalie will be married in the eyes of God and in the law. If anyone has a reason why they cannot be lawfully married, please step forward.”

My palms suddenly seemed to drain out all the moisture in my body. My mind yelled, “What if Adrian comes up? What if he objects?”

After 10 seconds the priest seemed satisfied.

“Do you two know of any legal reason of why you wouldn’t be able to marry?”

I shook my head silently. Alex shook his head.

“Right,” The priest let out a beam between his crinkled lips, and I relaxed. If this priest can have a good time, so can I. “Then let’s begin.”

“Now today, Natalie and Alex, you will be proving to the congregation your love to each other. As this couple is so in love they have decided to write their own vows. This is a very special time for them, so please keep silent. Alexander, you may go first.”

“Natalie Adella Windfield, I promise to love, cherish and be with you through good times and bad. Good times- those happen everyday when I hear you laugh or I look into your beautiful face. Bad times are always solved with a kiss and a glass of wine-”

Screenshot-913

“More than a kiss and more than one glass of wine!” Robin yelled out and there was laughter until the priest shushed him.

“And there is nothing more important to me than seeing you smile. J’taime Natalie.”

“To conclude that, do you, Alexander Anders, take Natalie Windfield as your wife?”

“Forever and always.”

“Natalie?”

“I, Natalie Adella Windfield am going to admit several facts which I’m sure I have shown to you in many ways which cannot be described in words. Alex, Alexander, Love bug, Sargent Rabbit, I love you. You make me laugh, you make me realize the definition of love each day. You make me feel like I’m the only girl in the world. When I’m in your arms, I feel wanted. Whenever I see you, I feel wanted. I love you. Ich libe dich. J’taime. Ek is lief vir you. I love you.”

“To conclude to that, do you, Natalie Adella Windfield, take Alexander Anders as your lawfully wedded husband?”

“Forever and always.”

“Now we will move onto the ring exchange. The ring is a beautiful symbolism, because a circle is never ending. A circle will move on for eternity. The ring is precious. The ring is often made out of a precious metal. A ring is something that you want to treasure forever.  All of those factors are like a marriage. Natalie, please repeat after me.

I, Natalie Adella Windfield, give you Alexander Anders, this ring, as a symbolism of my love for you.”

My voice shivering with nerves and my fingers shaking, I repeated  diligently.

“I, Natalie Adella Windfield, give you Alexander Anders, this ring, as a symbolism of my love for you.”

Screenshot-915

I slid the ring onto his finger. He looked up at me and grinned bashfully. His eyes spoke up for him.”I love you.”

“Alexander, repeat after me. I, Alexander Anders, give you Natalie Adella Windfield, this ring, as a symbolism of my love for you.”

He grinned at me.

” I, Alexander Anders, give you Natalie Adella Windfield, this ring, as a symbolism of my love for you.”

Screenshot-917

He slid the ring onto my finger and pulled off my engagement band. It felt too tight, as if my finger was being forced into marrying him.

Screenshot-918

“So, by the power invested in me, I now declare you two man and wife. You may now kiss the bride- andhappy 2013.”

Screenshot-919

I pulled him towards me and we kissed, his hands roaming across my bottom and his mouth exploring places he had never explored before. I felt a pang of remorse as out of the corner of my eye I saw Jones, standing there, smiling sadly. I pulled away from his embrace and I pulled him close as we watched the fireworks shoot into the sky.

They exploded, hearts, colours spreading vividly across the night sky. I was suddenly pulled away from my thoughts as the priest tapped me on the shoulder and told me we needed to sign the register.

Screenshot-921

I picked up the pen and silently signed the papers that declared Alex and I as man and wife while the guests and bridal party lined up next to the aisle with bubble mixture to blow bubbles at us as we walked down again as man and wife.

Alex picked up the pen next and signed as I clutched my bouquet and stared out awkwardly at the guests, all smiling and happy. Cassy winked at me, while Electra downed another glass of free champers that was being handed out. Logan, not drinking alcohol, raised his sparkling apple juice at me. I grinned excitedly back at them.

I looked out the corner of my eye and strained my ears as I saw Logan begin to talk to Jones, nodding sympathetically. I caught a snippet of their conversation.

“…divorces are always tough. How are the kids handling it?” Logan asked him as he accepted a non alcoholic berry  cocktail. I smiled fondly, remembering the girls and I making the cocktails yesterday for today. We made Logan’s the most beautiful and the only one where we didn’t let Cassy with her apparent “cocktail degree” from “The University of Oxbridge” touch it.

“Hate me. No idea what Isabelle has been telling them. Demi-Lee came up to me and threw her Coke in my face. I asked her why. She called me a “dirty, lying cheater”.”

“Oh, so you didn’t cheat?” Logan asked, sipping his drink and raising an eyebrow.

“No!” Jones cried.

“Well Isabelle told Chloe that you did. Now you don’t want to mess with Chloe and her family. So she was extremely annoyed with you. Me and Becks had to calm her down after she began writing you death letters.”

“That’s why she couldn’t look at me! Who did she say I cheated with?”

“No-one!” Logan said sharply and out of character. Suddenly he backtracked. “Do you really want to know?”

“Yes!”

“Natalie.”

Jones and my faces paled at the same time. I could feel the blood drain out my face, but warmth spreading again as I remembered the extreme pleasure I had that night. I realized it wasn’t warmth- I was blushing.

Logan looked at Jones’s face. “Jones,” he said softly, “We all know.”

“H-How? Only my mom knows and she would never say anything-”

“It was Alex’s parent’s beach house,” Logan reminded Jones. “Someone walked in on you two, and I don’t think you noticed the person in your…pleasure.” Logan said, slightly put out. I blushed even more.  “Changing the subject, why is Isabelle still here?”

“Oh, um, she’s still Alex’s friend and Natalie’s, I guess…”

“Does Alex know?’ He interjected. “Because it was a one night stand thing…”

“No, he doesn’t. And Chloe isn’t holding it against Natalie, because she knows the way she loves you. And Natalie didn’t cheat on a relative of hers,” Logan added with a raised eyebrow and a sip of the cocktail.

Alex returned from signing the papers and took my hand.

“Ready to go Mrs Anders?”

“Ready.”

Though there was a lump in my throat.

We shared another kiss, much to the guest’s delight. Taking my hand, he lead me down the aisle , through a swarm of bubbles, popping in my face.

There was a long line of trees that lead in a pathway to the reception area of the venue. Standing by the two front trees, Alex and I accepted wedding gifts and greeted family members.

Robin gave Alex a bear hug, Logan ignored Alex and walked straight to hug me. All the girls came and squeezed me until my insides hurt.

Addy was the last one to congratulate me.

“Hey, Alie! How is my favorite neice?”

“Great thanks! How are you?”

“Well I’m fine. I don’t want to ruin your night though we need to meet up. I have serious things to talk to you about.”

“You wouldn’t ruin my night!” I smiled warmly, though she anxiously looked away.

Suddenly Calista pulled me into a hug. I congratulated her on her beautiful children.

Ashby was last to talk to me. In her envelope to me she gave me a collection of pictures of our sextuplets. They were growing older now. I so wanted to meet them.

We then lead everyone to the reception area.

In  the reception area the guests tucked into a meal of roast chicken, rice, potatoes (POTATOES) and salad. There was laughs and chatter all around.

Then it was time for speeches. Cassy, Robin, Electra and Logan were going to say something.

Electra began.

“I have known Natalie a long time…
Okay, not THAT long, but long enough to know that whoever has her is the luckiest man on earth.
I have grown used to her constant wise-cracks and sarcasm, maybe even learned to love it.
Okay, I have to admit it, if was a man I’d marry her.
It seems only yesterday we were running across random peoples lawns naked, laughing like children.
Wait… That WAS yesterday.

All in all, she is my best friend.” She turned to Alex.

“And if you break her heart, I’ll break your face.”

She sat down politely.

Then it was Cassy’s turn.

“Natalie, you are the craziest woman I have ever met. We have done everything together and I would do anything for you. Even though we have had our ups and downs, we have both found true love and I wish you luck every step of the way. Wishing you and Alex luck and love.”

After the heartfelt speeches Alex and I cut into the cake. It was smooth and delicious.  I shoved it quite viciously into his mouth. He started laughing so much that he began to choke. I handed him some champagne and he downed it quickly into his vanilla and lemon filled mouth.

All the guests complimented us on the great cake. Considering we had such  big cake and such a small wedding, I was surprised when it was finished.

“Now we’d like to ask the bride and groom, Alex and Natalie, to begin the dancing with the first dance!” The MC for the night, Cassy, yelled into the mic.

I strolled onto the dance floor, bouquet in one hand, Alex in another.

The first dance song began to slowly start as I wrapped my arms around his neck.

Christina Perri’s ‘A Thousand Years’ was the first dance song.

Heart beats fast
Colors and promises
How to be brave?
How can I love when I’m afraid to fall
But watching you stand alone?
All of my doubt suddenly goes away somehow

Screenshot-920

One step closer

I have died everyday waiting for you
Darling don’t be afraid I have loved you
For a thousand years
I’ll love you for a thousand more

Screenshot-922

And all along I believed I would find you
Time has brought your heart to me
I have loved you for a thousand years
I’ll love you for a thousand more

Screenshot-926

It was that moment that tied the whole wedding together. Seeing Alex stare down at me in such love and admiration made my heart shrivel and me to lean into his face and kiss him passionately, which lead several woops and cheers to follow.

As the song ended, we stayed swaying to the music that followed. I saw Becks and Logan stroll onto the dance floor as the next song came on. I pulled Alex and myself closer so that we (I) could hear their conversation.

The song that played was Mr Big’s To Be With You.

Hold on little girl
Show me what he’s done to you
Stand up little girl
A broken heart can’t be that bad
When it’s through, it’s through 
Fate will twist the both of you 
So come on baby come on over 
Let me be the one to show you

I’m the one who wants to be with you
Deep inside I hope you feel it too
Waited on a line of greens and blues
Just to be the next to be with you

Screenshot-923

Build up your confidence
So you can be on top for once
wake up who cares about 
Little boys that talk too much
I seen it all go down 
Your game of love was all rained out
So come on baby, come on over
Let me be the one to hold you

Why be alone when we can be together baby
You can make my life worthwhile
And I can make you start to smile

Was it just me or was that song so significant to the rumors I’ve heard about Logan and Becks falling in love without knowing it and Jed not treating Becks with respect?

I turned around to see Cassy and Robin dancing, and Electra and Alex II to the song “Your Song” By Elton John.

It’s a little bit funny this feeling inside
I’m not one of those who can easily hide
I don’t have much money but boy if I did
I’d buy a big house where we both could live

If I was a sculptor, but then again, no
Or a man who makes potions in a travelling show
I know it’s not much but it’s the best I can do
My gift is my song and this one’s for you

And you can tell everybody this is your song
It may be quite simple but now that it’s done
I hope you don’t mind
I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words
How wonderful life is while you’re in the world

Screenshot-925

There wasn’t only couples dancing. We had a bridesmaid dance, which was P!nk’s Raise Your Glass

Right, right, turn off the lights
We’re gonna lose our minds tonight
What’s the deal, yo?
I love when it’s all too much
5 a.m. turn the radio up
Where’s the rock ‘n roll?

Party crasher, penny snatcher
Call me up if you’re a gangsta
Don’t be fancy, just get dancy
Why so serious?

Screenshot-924

“So raise your glass if you are wrong
In all the right ways, all my underdogs
We will never be, never be anything but loud
And nitty gritty, dirty little freaks” We all yelled together.

Won’t you come on and come on and

Raise your glass!

Just come on and come on and
Raise your glass!

Then Jones appeared. “Would you like to dance?” He asked, taking my hand. I nodded, my hands shaking with chemistry at his touch. The next song that came on was a song I had asked Alex if he wanted it to be our first dance. He said it was impersonal. For Alex maybe. Jones and I, it had so many different meanings.

It was Daylight by Maroon 5.

Here I am waiting, I’ll have to leave soon, why am I holdin’ on
We knew this day would come, we knew it all along
How did it come so fastScreenshot-91
This is our last night, but it’s late and I’m tryin’ not to sleep
‘Cuz I know, when I wake I will have to slip away

And when the daylight comes I’ll have to go
But, tonight I’m ‘gonna hold you so close
‘Cuz in the daylight, we’ll be on our own

But, tonight I need to hold you so close

Screenshot-865

Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa
Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa
Screenshot-862
Here I am starring, at your perfection in my arms; so beautiful.
The sky is getting bright, the stars are burnin’ out.
Somebody slow it down.
This is way too hard, ‘cuz I know when the sun comes up I will leave
This is my last glance that will soon be memories

Screenshot-198

And when the daylight comes I’ll have to go
But, tonight I’m ‘gonna hold you so close
‘Cuz in the daylight, we’ll be on our own
But, tonight I need to hold you so close.

Screenshot-864

He pulled away from me once the tune ended. “You know I love you,” he whispered in my ear. I nodded, tears filling my eyes as I bit my lip and watched him walk away from the wedding.

“Nice dance,” Becks came up to me and commented quietly. “Though come and dance with us, it’ll perk you up a little.”

We  danced to Gangnam style, Poker Face, Dancing Queen, Waterloo, Moves Like Jagger and Living on A Prayer. Logan turns out to be pretty good at Gangnam Style.

While all the guests chatted in groups on the dance floor, I went to get some fresh air while the song Little Things by One Direction came on.

Your hand fits in mine
Like it’s made just for me
But bear this in mind
It was meant to be
And I’m joining up the dots with the freckles on your cheeks
And it all makes sense to me

“Want to dance?” A familiar deep voice says and I turn around to accept the offer, until I see who it is.

Adrian.

I remember the murder. The stalking. The insane family. For the sake of my life, I give a small nod and take his hand.

I know you’ve never loved
The crinkles by your eyes
When you smile
You’ve never loved
Your stomach or your thighs,
The dimples in your back at the bottom of your spine
But I’ll love them endlessly

“So how are you?” He smiles and I can feel my heart beating at an immense rate. His hands finger the straps of my bra underneath my dress and he pulls them down.

“G-good and you?” I allow him to do this because I’m sure he won’t do anything else. And if I pull away, he’ll kill everyone at this wedding.

Screenshot-144

“Oh, I’m great,” he chortles in his deep, low voice. His mouth touches my sensitive spot, my neck, and he whispers, “Never better Alie.”

I won’t let these little things slip out of my mouth
But if I do
It’s you
Oh, it’s you they add up to
I’m in love with you
And all these little things

Screenshot-143

His hands suddenly travel down to my bottom and he squeezes it so tightly I try yo cry out in pain, but he covers my mouth and carries me to an empty , hidden spot in the snow.

He then proceeds to rip off my wedding dress, though he makes no tear in it. After pulling it over my head, he takes what he had take 4 years ago, takes what Alex was supposed to give to me on our wedding night.

As I lie in the snow what he’s left me alone, I hear the end of a song.

I won’t let these little things slip out of my mouth
But if it’s true
It’s you,
It’s you they add up to
I’m in love with you
And all your little things

I look and see Chloe in her coat, making an igloo. I don’t know why, though it motivates me to get up.

Screenshot-927

I get myself ready to leave and pull my dress back on, which is now stained by the snow. I’m freezing.

I walk towards the dance floor and its time to throw the bouquet. Electra and Becks (who decided to join in anyway) catch it together.

 Becks handed the bouquet to her. A little envelope fell out with the words “Electra Danton” scribbled on it. Electra’s hands were shaking.

She opened it and a little ball of cotton emerged. She opened up the cotton slowly but surely- and a beautiful sliver band with a main diamond, with little rubies and sapphires embedded around the band. We were all so enthralled by the beautiful ring, that we didn’t notice Alex II kneeling down and asking her, “Electra Danton, will you marry me?”

She didn’t answer him. She jumped into his arms and kissed him passionately.

 Alex’s older sister, Britney, gave Alex II a huge hug. Cherry, Scarlett and Jake, his other siblings ran over on their toddler legs and hugged his shins. I hadn’t realized that Britney had picked up the kids for the reception.

You were busy.

Busy with Adrian.

After Alex pulled the garter off my leg with his teeth which caused many wolf whistles because the garter was too high, Logan caught it. Electra didn’t want him to slide it on her leg, so he had to slide it on Becks’ leg with his teeth, much to our amusement.

That night, when we left the party that was still alive, I turned away from Alex and stared out the window. And when he carried me up to our bed that night, me in my lingerie, I went straight to sleep, turning my back on Alex, who was extremely confused.

Screenshot-940

Screenshot-939

Adrian had somehow managed to mess up the beginning and the middle of my life.

Time to see if he messes up the end.

10 thoughts on “In the daylight we’ll be on our own, so tonight I have to hold you so close.

  1. I DONT KNOW WHETHER TO CRY OR LOVE THIS POST OR HUDDLE UP IN THE CORNER AND HUG MY KNEES.
    I LOVED IT!!
    Im sorry im not one for huge long comments >.>
    BUT BECKS AND LOGAN KJFSHLKGJSFLKGLJGL
    AND NATALIE AND JONES FKJDGKLSJFDLKGKLSGJ
    AND NATALIE AND ALEX JLHDFJKSHGKSJGHKJFG
    AND NATALIE AND ADRIAN *THROWS UP*
    AND EBONY AND ALEX II SDGLKHFLGJALKJLGJLFGL
    AND EVERYTHING ELSE DKJFKLFGJKLJSDKGDJKLG

  2. Woo! *raises arm*
    For Sparta!
    That was irrelevant. Poor Natalie, even though I watched you write this *creepy stalker* it still made me feels. ;-;
    NATALIE AND ALEX
    BECKS AND LOGAN
    ELECTRA AND ALEX II
    \(^_^)/ ~(^_^~) (~^_^)~ \(^_^\) (/^_^)/ ~(^_^)~ \(^0^)/

  3. Wow that was wow…. I am quite annoyed that everyone blames Jones, but not Natalie. It takes two to tango 😦 Adrian…Ugh I hate that man.

    Lovely wedding. I really enjoyed this post.

    Ashby

  4. FIRST OF ALL, I LOVE YOUR BACKGROUND.

    SECOND, NATALIE LOOKS HAWT AN GORGEOUS >.< .< OMG I LOVE HIM .<

    JONES AND NATALIE NEED TO BE TOGETHER SJKDFGHASDKFHASKFH

    I LOVE ALL OF THOSE SONGS!!!!!!! 😀

    ADRIAN -_- I HATE CHU!!!!!!!

    *CHANTS* NEW POST! NEW POST! NEW POST! NEW POST! :DDDD

    ~Chloe (youramazinglyawesomesupercoolfriend)

Leave a Reply

